A101 Amend Canon I.4.1(d) related to DFMS By-laws

Resolved, the House of _______ concurring, That the 79th General Convention amend Canon I.4.1(d) as follows

(d) The Executive Council shall be composed (a) of twenty (20) members elected by the General Convention, of whom four (4) shall be Bishops, four (4) shall be Presbyters or Deacons, and twelve (12) shall be Lay Persons who are confirmed adult communicants in good standing (two (2) Bishops, two (2) Presbyters or Deacons, and six (6) Lay Persons to be elected by each subsequent regular meeting of the General Convention); (b) of eighteen (18) members elected by the Provincial Synods; (c) of the following ex-officiis members: the Presiding Bishop and the President of the House of Deputies; and (d) the Vice President of the House of Deputies, the Chief Operating Officer, the Secretary of the General Convention, the Treasurer of the General Convention, the Chief Financial Officer of the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society, and the Chief Legal Officer of the Executive Council, all of whom shall have seat and voice but no vote. Each Province shall be entitled to be represented by one (1) Bishop or Presbyter or Deacon canonically resident in a Diocese which is a constituent member of the Province and one (1) Lay Person who is a confirmed adult communicant in good standing of a Diocese which is a constituent member of the Province, and the terms of the representatives of each Province shall be so rotated that two (2) persons shall not be simultaneously elected for equal terms.

View Original Version